It’s your worst nightmare: you’re involved in accident and the other driver has no insurance. You may think that you’re out of luck and that you’re going to have to fend for yourself to have your vehicle fixed and pay for your own medical bills.
What you may not realize is that your insurance has built-in protections for this exact situation. This coverage is based on law rather than the policies of various insurance companies.
In South Carolina, the minimum coverages for recovering from uninsured drivers is as follows:
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for a bodily injury from an uninsured driver.
- $25,000 per accident and a $200 deductible for property damage as the result of an uninsured driver.
While no accident is ideal, your insurance policy must protect you against irresponsible people who drive without insurance. Instead of dreading paying hundreds or thousands of dollars to fix your vehicle, you may have your vehicle fixed for the cost of your deductible.
Things like unexpected medical bills can strain anyone’s finances but having this uninsured driver protection can help cover those expenses as well.
In the aftermath of the crash
Because South Carolina has safeguards against uninsured drivers in place, you can handle an accident like normal. Notify the police and insurance company. It may be a good idea to go to the doctor and ensure that there are lurking injuries. Getting an estimate on the repair costs of your vehicle is a good idea.
Injuries to yourself and damages to your vehicle are all things your insurance policy can compensate you for in an accident. South Carolina insurance laws are why you shouldn’t lose hope if the other driver is uninsured.